Skip to content

The comma,

June 29, 2011

I am a comma,
The most forgetful of all punctuation
A sudden pause to flowing emotions
To change the course of thought
Abruptly put at times without a thought.

In the middle without anyone’s notice
I lie amongst the words and phrases
Connecting few to produce significance
Explaining others without consequence.

At the feet of the mighty words
I humbly lie without any company
Forlorn and lost in my own world
To suddenly crown the letters.

Lovers pause at my command
Scientists think at my appearance
Writers drift apart as they use me
For I make their words meaningful.

From → Poetry

Leave a Reply

